MILLAN

Photography

Goat Talk

My Black History Month poster features Michael Jordan’s media day picture from the 1997 USA basketball team. The poster looks sort of retro and animated, similar in a sense to the Uncle Sam poster. The title of my work is “Goat talk,” and the subject matter is Michael Jordan’s impact on the game of basketball as one of the best players to ever play the game.

To create this poster, we used Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop. First, we removed the background of the image and desaturated the photo. Then we played with the colors, light and dark, the layers, textures, and patterns. Lastly, we finished the poster off with a border and background.

The title of my work is “Goat talk,” emphasizing the true impact Michael Jordan made on the game. He was one of if not the greatest basketball player of all time. He’s arguably the most famous basketball player of all time too, and brought attention and respect to the game that many of us love and cherish today. What inspired my artwork was my love for basketball. My poster shows the love and respect many have towards Michael for his many impressive accomplishments and for all he gave to the game of basketball. 

My goals as an artist are to show the worldwide effect Michael Jordan had on the game of basketball. I believe that my piece helped me to achieve this through the emphasis on his achievements such as the USA jersey showing he played in the olympics, and the sort of retro glow to emphasize his true effect and importance to the game.

In creating this artwork I learned the true impact someone can have on a game or sport in general. The final piece came out better than expected. All the colors and print came together so well. This piece will influence my future art, reminding me to improve and become better every time I make art. Millan_Christopher_24_HerMillan_Christopher_24_HeritagePoster itagePoster

Next Post

Leave a Reply

© 2024 MILLAN

Theme by Anders Norén

Skip to toolbar